banner
 
  Home >> Blogs >> Book Review OPP, 10

this user is offline now  bloggerbob
Send message

Subscribe



Categories:
  Religion & Philosophy
  Blogging
  Jobs, Work, Careers

Archive:
April 2020
March 2020
February 2020
January 2020
December 2019
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
June 2019
May 2019
April 2019
March 2019
February 2019
January 2019
December 2018
November 2018
October 2018
September 2018
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011

Who Gives Kudos:



 

   [16 Dec 2012 | Sunday]

Book Review OPP, 10

~ Book Review of “One Precious Pearl” ~

Reproduced immediately below is one of the many positive reviews the book “One Precious Pearl” has received.
 
 
One Precious Pearl: God's Design for His Church by Robert Lloyd Russell 
Christian Concepts Series: Timeless Truths and Contemporary Perspective 
Infinity Publishing
Reviewed by: Miss Pickwickian
Rating: 7
Readability: 7
Impact: 7
I'll never think about pearls the same way. It certainly made me do some good thinking.
 
Read it Again: Yes.
Recommend it: Yes!
 
What to Expect
One Precious Pearl focuses on Jesus parables in Matthew 13, especially the parable of the merchant and the pearl.  He also touches on other uses and context of the gem in the Bible.
 
The second portion of the book explains analogies and symbolism that can be seen in the actual pearl and through history and tradition.
 
The book can be easily used as a personal or group Bible study or can be read in a couple sittings. It's divided into 22 short chapters with questions, and thought and discussion ideas at the end of each.  The book is engaging.
 
My Squib
I really enjoyed the book.  The symbolism and analogy are all very exciting.  (Especially after just finishing Through New Eyes.)  Russell has a wide Bible knowledge and pulls passages from throughout the Scriptures. The style is understandable and relatively direct, although not outstanding.
 
One Precious Pearl gives the three common interpretations of Matthew 13:45-46 and then argues for what the author sees as the correct view, why this is important, and what it means.
 
The book then moves on to actual aspects of the pearl and how it may symbolize different qualities of the Church.
 
A pearl begins by something “piercing its side,” the impurity (us sinners) is then transformed through the body of the oyster...it is a result of suffering and “sacrifice,” the pearl is formed layer by layer, it is a perfect unit, etc...  This whole section is very interesting.
 
One chapter that really made me think was on the pearl reflecting the inner shell of the oyster... which is actually very pearly and beautiful.
 
Jesus was not comely that we should look at Him, but obviously He is truly more beautiful and pure than we can imagine.  And someday, as the Church becomes more like Him, it will become glorious and beautiful, reflecting His perfection.
 
While I don't think you could argue all these analogies are set in stone in the Bible, they can certainly be used as symbols of Christ's Church.  I found this very exciting as a way to explain key aspects of the Church after the Resurrection and the gift of the Holy Spirit.
The book is excellent for meditating on and discussing the Church that we are part of today.
 
The only real problem I had was the book was his theology on “end times”... but he almost seems to contradict himself.  I believe Jesus reigns now (we all sing it at Christmas).  His Word will spread and the Church will grow.
 
Russell seems more dispensationlist in his view, but at the same time has confidence in the spreading of the gospel and growth in the Church... but perhaps not it's visibility.  He also seems to believe that Israel is still very important in the future of Christ's kingdom (besides obviously being a nation that will bend the knee to Him).
 
I found it all pretty interesting and raised lot of questions for me.
 
And, again, I was surprised how doctrinal differences affect so many more things than I anticipate.  I'm afraid I'm not particularly confident I could argue our view of eschatology... but at 19 there's still hope, right?
 
Russell, however, demands respect when he does not shy away from sometimes tough or unpopular doctrine... or merely applying what he believes.  I sincerely believe that his greatest goal is to drive others to open their Bibles and study the perfect Word!  It certainly made me dig into my Bible, even if it I was because of a disagreement. :-) 
 
Although I didn't agree with everything, I thoroughly enjoyed One Precious Pearl.  I'm very glad I got the chance to read it.  I now view the pearl as a beautiful symbol and amazing teaching tool!
 
I recommend it and would love discussing it. :-)
 
From the Book
In both the beginning of a pearl and the initial formation of the Church, the side of a living organism was opened.
 
Both the impurity in the Oyster and sinners in the Church are transformed into items of great value.
 
Like a pearl, the Church is a product of a living thing—the Church is a organism rather than merely an organization.
 
Thanks for reading,
Miss Pickwickian
 
 
“ONE PRECIOUS PEARL: God’s Design for His Church” has received many accolades including being named
2011 Book-Of-The-Year” (Religion: Eastern/Western) by Reader Views Literary Awards,
2011 Runner-up” (Religion: Christianity)by the International Book Awards, and
2011 Winner” (Book: Biblical Studies) by The Word Guild
“2011 Finalist” (Religion: Christianity) by The USA “Best Books of 2011” Awards
2011 Gold” (Literary Excellence – 1 of 3 Gold Awards across all genres) by the World Book Awards
 
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
There is more information about One Precious Pearl at the author’s website
You may order directly from Amazon or from Infinity Publishing
 
~ Robert Lloyd Russell, ABUNDANT LIFE NOW
 
Mood:
9:20 AM - 0 Comments - 0 Kudos - Add comment 

  Comments
 
|
|
|
|
|
 
Copyright © 2009 - 2012 True2ourselves. All rights reserved.
Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission is prohibited.